pokemon y!

Hi all!

As everyone knows by know, Pokemon was released on Saturday. While I was originally planning a follow-up post to Harvest Moon : A New Beginning, I decided to put that on the back-burner while I play Pokemon. And, there goes another task onto my to-do list. Anyway, my plans for Harvest Moon for those who are wondering is that I will make the next post after I’ve completed Summer of the first year and then, perhaps after I finish one year. Hopefully by these milestones, I would’ve played the game enough to form more opinions about the game. I don’t really want to say too much about what I think of the game right now because my focus is on POKEMON. For this post, at least.

As I did for Harvest Moon, I’ll provide everyone with my own personal history with Pokemon. My brother first introduced me to Pokemon Red when it was first released and while it was fun, I didn’t really understand enough at that point to thoroughly enjoy the game. I was a kid and anything that really kept me occupied was fun. The next Pokemon I remember playing with Pokemon Yellow on my Gameboy Colour. It was fun and I liked Pikachu. Following this, I had the Trading Card Game WHICH I LOVED and I think that was my last encounter with Pokemon until recently.

I recently picked up Pokemon again because of my friends’ influence. This led me to Pokemon Black Version 2. While it was enjoyable, it didn’t quite hit the spot the same way the others did. I’ve yet to finish the game so perhaps, I need a bit more time to feel the same joy and excitement. I’ll report on these feelings in another post, another time. But, basically, from this, I wasn’t as psyched about Pokemon X and Y as some of my friends who lost sleep waiting or the game to come out. While the Nintendo Direct video did a pretty good job psyching me up for Pokemon, a little part of me was also worried that it might not meet my expectations.

But, after six days, I can say this game is amazing and I’m so in love with Pokemon again. I’m currently thirty hours in, which may not seem like a lot for some people but, it is to me. I played the game obsessively for the first three days before deciding that it might not be such a good idea since I was sacrificing sleep. But, it was definitely worth it.

While I wish I could provide screenshots of my playthrough thus far, my first thought when I started the game was not to take photos but to play the game. I apologise for my impatience when it came to the game but, I hope you guys can understand. It is Pokemon!

When the game first started, I was in awe of the graphics. Everything looked so pretty and the animation was great! In the opening scene, Fletchling flies into your room to wake you up by landing on you. My first thought was, “Wooooow”. Followed quickly by “ouch” as I imagined what it would be like to have a sizable bird land on me first thing in the morning. Anyway, I found the pictures very pretty and the entire design very aesthetically appealing. I know this seems very superficial but, graphics matter a lot to me. It pretty much decides if I will play a game, read a manga, watch an anime, etc. And, Pokemon Y (I’m playing Y) does not disappoint in this area. These amazing animations extend to battle scenes and even looking at your Pokemon party.

Besides being very aesthetically appealing, it feels like you don’t need to grind as hard in this game compared to other pokemon games. I’ve just finished the second gym and my pokemon were a lot higher than the gym leader’s. I finished the battle in two moves and that was that. And, the fact that it isn’t as tough to level up, makes me feel that the game is a lot faster and I feel a lot for addicted because I’m constantly waiting for the next big thing to happen. It’s always just a little bit more to the next level and by the time I’ve done that, it’s another little bit more to another level. But, with my pokemon levelling up so quickly, I find that my pokemon kill a lot of pokemon in one hit, making catching pokemon a bit painful. I constantly have to carry in my party a couple of pokemon weaker than my regular battling pokemon to ensure I catch the pokemon I intend to catch and not end the battle in one hit (something I’ve done numerous times). It’s just something to keep in mind when I’m battling a new pokemon that I want to catch. Which pokemon am I using? What level is it? What are the opposing pokemons’ weaknesses/strengths?

I’m currently about 30 hours into the game, so, not thaat much compared to some others who have already finished the game. I eased up a bit in the last couple of days because I could feel it taking a toll on me. I also haven’t gotten far only just beating the second gym because I’m slightly obsessed with catching every pokemon in each area before moving on. You know, gotta catch ’em all? But, I think I’m going to make that a secondary task right now because I see all my friends catching up and overtaking me and it makes me feel left out. So, I really need to get on it!

If anyone wants some tips, I can try to give out some. But, I probably am not the most pokemon-savvy person in the world. I can say that for quick and easy money, battle in the manor. If you are wondering what pokemon I have in my party this very moment, I’ve got Blastoise, Delphox, Skiddo, Vivillon, Amaura and Helioptile. It’s probably a strange mix of pokemon but, I really work with whatever pokemon I want. I was encouraged to by my friend. In his words, “Who cares if they are weak or not? Just use what you like and what you want.” And, I have. I was originally looking online to see what people reckoned would be the best combination but I eventually gave up. So, I’m going with my own unique Yen combination.

Anyway, I’m going to get back to Pokemon now but, I promise I will post photos with my next post.

See you next time!

Cheers,
Yen

Leave a Reply

